Tuesday, January 25, 2011

I'm moving!

I'm in the process of moving to Wordpress. Please come on over to Rowell Reviews, but keep in mind that it's a work in progress. I'm still working on getting the layout the way I want.

I hope to see you over there!


Sunday, January 23, 2011

Costume Squad T-Shirts Review & Giveaway

Where to Buy: Costume Squad 

About the site: Costume Squad sells, yes, you guessed it, costumes! But they also have a large number of cool t-shirts. There are several categories, even Zombie t-shirts.

My Review (Jake's Review, in this case):

Jake's main staple in his wardrobe are t-shirts and jeans. His favorite t-shirts are of bands, movies, or those with funny sayings. Costume Squad is a good place to get any of those. You can check out their Funny t-shirts or Best sellers to see which fit your style. I personally like the awesome collection of 80s t-shirts.

Unfortunately, slang has it's grips on our 14 year old son. And my least favorite of all his sayings is "that's what she said". As much as I cringe when I hear it, when I had my choice of t-shirts to review from Costume Squad, this was the one I chose.

We received the shirt promptly and Jake actually wore it the next day. The blue color was bright and there it was, the coolest of all sayings today. The shirt is a soft material, but durable. We've washed the shirt a few times since Jake wants to wear it often and it's still retaining its original color and appeal. Shrinking is usually an issue with t-shirts, but this shirt is maintaining it's size.

Me: So, Jake. What do you think about your shirt?
Jake: Cool.
Me: That's it?
Jake: It's a cool shirt?

Ah, 14 year olds. Plenty to say, unless you actually ask them.

The Giveaway: One lucky person will win their choice of Costume Squad t-shirts. ($19.99 or less).

Mandatory Entry:  Follow me via Google Friend Connect. Please leave your email address in at least one of your comments. Mandatory entry must be completed for any extra entries to count.

Extra entries: Complete as many extra entries as you like, but please leave a separate comment for each extra entry.

+1 "Like" my Facebook page Rowell Reviews.

+1 Follow me on Twitter. @rowellreviews.

+1 Tweet this giveaway. You can use this tweet: I entered to #win a new t-shirt from Costume Squad and @rowellreviews you can too! Check out http://bit.ly/eXJage for your chance! Please RT Can be done once daily.

+1 "Like" Costume Squad on Facebook.

+1 "Like" or "Share" one of the products on our website.  The buttons for these are on all product detail pages, above the main image.

Giveaway Rules: US entries only. The giveaway begins January 23, 2011 and ends at 11:59 February 13, 2011. At that time, I will use random.org to choose a winner. I will email and post the winner's name here. The winner has 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. For this giveaway per sponsor: Winners cannot have won a shirt from us or have been sent a shirt for promotional purposes in the last 90 days.

Disclosure: I received a free product in exchange for an honest review. I received no monetary compensation. All opinions expressed are honest and mine alone.

Let's Get Social 1/23

Let's Get Social

What is Let’s Get Social?
Let’s Get Social is a weekly link-up hosted by a fabulous group of five bloggers we call the Fab 5! The Fab 5 includes Bridget of Guide to Smart Shopping, Jennifer of Sweep Tight, Jessica of Mom of all Trades, Tree of Mother of Pearl It Is, and Brandi of Life with Five Monkies.
We created Let’s Get Social as a means to socialize with other bloggers as well as help you gain more followers! You can follow via any social method you like. You can also follow using more than one method and we encourage you to do so! Please be sure to leave a comment letting the person know how you followed so they can follow you back.

To Participate:
-Follow all of the hosts in the first 5 spots. Please leave a comment on our Let’s Get Social post letting us know how you follow and we will follow you back. Please be patient with us as it might take us a couple days to get through everybody.

-After you have made sure to follow each host, follow as many other bloggers as you like commenting on their hop post as you do so so they can follow you back!

-All blogs participating must post about Let’s Get Social each week when linking up. Please include our button using the code provided above in your post. This will help to get the word out about Let’s Get Social.

-Link-up the post you made on your blog for Let’s Get Social. Please link directly to your post instead of to your homepage.

This linky will go live every Saturday at 9:01 pm EST!  Direct links to your hop post only please! Links to your homepage, other blog hop, or giveaways will be deleted.

Tuesday, January 18, 2011

Twitter Hop Tuesday 1/18

Would you like to have more Twitter followers and be able to find new blogs or businesses? If so come and join the hostesses: Shining2Save, Living on Love and Cents and Luxury Living Frugal Style Every Tuesday!

1. Add your Twitter URL to the Linky below: when you add it, it will automatically appear on everyone’s page that posts this Linky so you do not need to add it more than once

2. Click on the top 3 Twitter Names and follow them: The top 3 will be the hostesses; Shining2Save, Living on Love and Cents and Luxury Living Frugal Style we will follow you back.

3. Follow as many people on Twitter as you like: Be sure to leave comments or send them a message so they will know where to follow you back.

You do not have to make a post to join: but it is always a plus if you do so everyone else can see and join in on the fun! 

Help spread the word and add this Linky to your blog! The more we spread it the more followers we will get!

Below the Linky box, you will see see “What is a blog Hop? Get the Code Here" Click on it and just copy and paste that code into your post and the same Linky will appear. Your blog visitors can add their Twitter ID to your list and it will show up on all lists!

Feel free to copy and paste these instructions or just post the button and link back to me.
Please only add your Twitter url. All other entries will be deleted.
Thank you and Have Fun Twitter Hopping!

Monday, January 17, 2011

Reel Reviews Case 39

Title: Case 39 IMDb
DVD Release Date: January 4, 2011.
Rated: R for violence and some disturbing imagery.
Starring: Renee Zellweger, Bradley Cooper, Jodelle Ferland, Ian McShane.
Favorite Quote: None.
Renee Zellweger plays an overworked, but ambitious social worker. She's got 38 cases on her plate and little time for anything else. Her superior drops a file on her desk, case 39. About five minutes into the movie you realize she lives for her work and the other aspects of her life are faltering a bit. She has a date with Bradley Cooper and hear her reasonings/excuses for her lack of dating.

Emily begins to investigate her latest case, a 10 year old girl Lillith, first by visiting the family in question. From the first step into their house, she finds things peculiar and disturbing. The mother looks haggard, the little girl scared, and the father at first refuses to even speak with her. When he finally comes to the living room, he refuses to speak directly but rather through the mother. When asked why, she's told he hates speaking in anger.

When the family makes it's appearance at her office, they are the picture perfect family and Emily's superior tells her there is no case. In secret, Lillith tells Emily that she heard her parents saying they were going to send her to Hell, but later denies it. Emily gives Lillith her personal number if she ever needs it and it's a short time later when Emily receives the call that Lillith's parents are coming for her.

When Emily arrives with her police officer friend, they have to break down the door and find Lillith's parents in the kitchen having duct taped Lillith into the oven. From then on, Emily is charged with Lillith's safety, but more so with finding out why Lillith's parents were trying to kill her and why they had bolts on the inside of their doors.

Billie's Views:
The whole movie had an eerie quality, lots of greys and dreary scenary. About five minutes into the movie, I was very pleasantly surprised by the appearance of Bradley Cooper, yum! I had no idea he was in the movie and he's one of my latest crushes. Have you seen those abs? Anyway, I had a hard time believing Renee in this particular role. I'm used to her in upbeat bubbly type movies so this was a bit of a stretch, but she tried. I've seen this type of movie over and over, but it was an interesting take.

Riddle Me This: (could possibly contain spoilers, read at own risk).
I pegged that something was wrong with the little girl right away. As soon as I saw them putting her into the oven, I knew that she was evil in some way and that they were actually protecting themselves from her instead of the way around. I wish there had been a little more development as to why she was evil.

I give it a 3 out of 5 stars. I would have liked a different main actress and it would have been a bit scarier. I kept seeing Renee in her Bridget Jones' role and it made it difficult to take this role seriously. I would watch it again if it was on tv. I did recommend it to a co-worker.

Sunday, January 16, 2011

Changes in the mix

After researching and talking with quite a few bloggers, I've decided to move to Wordpress. I'm usually one of those people that jumps into a new project with both feet and then fizzles out. I hesitated with blogging because of this, but I truly think it's something that I can see through. I have a lot to contribute. I have big goals!

In the meantime, while I research how to best accomplish this move, I'm going to limit my posting. Simple reasoning for this is, less posting, less to move.

I will keep joining blog hops, just because they are fun and I love finding new blogs to read and hoping that people might latch onto my blog as well.

If anyone has any tips or advice for the moving process or blogging in general, feel free to comment.

Thanks so much!


Friday, January 14, 2011

Fun Follow Friday

Welcome to Fun Follow Friday hosted by Simply Stacie and My Wee View. The goal of this hop is to get new Google Friend Connect Followers for your blog and be introduced to new blogs to follow! We wanted to keep it fun and easy so all you have to do is add your blog link and start blog hopping and following away! You aren’t required to write a post for your blog for Fun Follow Fridayunless you want to (but we really appreciate it if you do to help get the word out).

When you visit a blog that you like and want to follow, leave them a comment with your link telling them you are following from the Fun Follow Friday. Of course, we would love for you to follow both hostesses blogs, Simply Stacie and My Wee View, but it isn’t mandatory. If you do follow us, just leave us a comment and we will follow you back.

The main goal is to have fun and follow the blogs that interest you!
There are a few fun things that Fun Follow Fridays does each week:
1.  Each week 1 winner will be randomly drawn for the #3 Spot, this week it’s Growing towards a dream.
Happy hopping along!